Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer
Soccer team group photo on field with U SPORTS championship banner.
2018 national champions


The University of Ottawa has claimed eight national championships in the modern era of varsity university sport:

2018 Gladys Bean Memorial Trophy – Women’s Soccer

2017 Monilex Cup - Women’s Rugby

2000 Vanier Cup – Football

1996 Gladys Bean Memorial Trophy – Women’s Soccer

1990 CIAU Men’s Cross Country Team Champions 

1987 CIAU Men’s Cross Country Team Champions

1986 CIAU Men’s Cross Country Team Champions

1975 College Bowl – Football

The Gee-Gees have celebrated a national gold medallist in individual sports 45 times, most recently in the pool with Davide Casarin winning the 400 and 1500m freestyle events at the 2020 National Championships. The track and field team had Stephen Evans claim gold in 2019 in the 600m, one year after he claimed silver in the same event.

View the full list of individual national gold medallists here.

In addition, the Gee-Gees men’s football program won six Dominion Championships (1887, 1888, 1894, 1896, 1897, 1901) in the early era after being formed in 1881. uOttawa has the third oldest football program in Canadian university sport.

The Gee-Gees were the Dominion Champions in Intermediate (Men's) Basketball in 1939, travelling to Nova Scotia to win the title.

The University of Ottawa also claimed the CIAU national championship in men's volleyball in 1967-68, which is recognized by U SPORTS as the second ever official national championship in that sport. 


In total, the University of Ottawa has earned 73 conference championships in varsity team competition since 1953. 

The Gee-Gees women’s soccer team has captured the Ontario conference banner a record 10 times (2022, 2018, 2014, 2012, 2006, 2003, 2000, 1999, 1997, 1996), and won the 2020 RSEQ Indoor league championship.

The Gee-Gees women’s rugby team won six consecutive RSEQ conference championships (2019, 2018, 2017, 2016, 2015, 2014). The RSEQ league record for consecutive championships is seven.

The Gee-Gees men's golf team won the OUA championship in 2018, the seventh banner in team history.

View the full list of team conference championships here.